Tarte’s LipSurgence Matte Lip Stain


Hello Pretty Peeps,

Ya’ll know, I have a thing for lip stains, they are probably my favorite lip product besides chapstick.  When it comes to my lips, I normally don’t go bold or crazy because I don’t like the up keep.  I don’t like touching up my lips for some reason and when I do wear lipstick, I always forget that I’m wearing it.  And because I forget that I’m wearing any sort of lipstick it ends up looking awful.  When it comes to my lips, I tend to go for lip stains because if it really is a stain then I am good to go for the whole day and I can forget that I have it on.  So when I saw a while ago that one of my favorite makeup brands came out with lip stains, I didn’t hesitate to grab a few to play with.

Believe the hype about Tarte’s LipSurgence Natural Lip Tints! With skinvigorating™ ingredients like jojoba seed oil, peppermint oil, vitamin C, and vitamin E, I was really impressed with how well Tarte’s LipSurgence Lip Tints moisturized my lips.  I didn’t even need another lip balm underneath them. I tried “Enchanted” which made my lips pop with a nice watermelon rose color that lasted most of the day as well as “Peaceful” which is a great nude-peach color that I especially like to wear with more dramatic eyes. . I can’t wait to try some of the other five colors. Tarte’s LipSurgence Lip Tint is a definite must-have for every woman’s makeup bag!

Product Claims:

Just like the original and best-selling natural lip stains, LipSurgence™ natural matte lip stains are peppermint-infused and glide on smooth for a rich matte finish that will stay all day. Each of the matte shades boasts the high pigment concentration we love from matte lipsticks, but unlike drying lipsticks these stains are infused with our high-performance natural™ LipSurgence™ technology which is clinically proven to increase moisture content.

Earth engineered from a proprietary blend of plant bio-nutrients our LipSurgence™ technology quickly absorbs into the skin delivering a surge of moisture on a cellular level while boosting peptides stimulate skin’s own regenerative system and assist in the formation of collagen. This proprietary blend increases skin’s water content for a ‘plumped up’ appearance. The result is naturally fuller, healthier lips without any irritation or stinging.

Packaging:

This lip stain comes in a unique, chunky lip pencil form, and offers highly saturated color. It’s a jumbo lip pencil made out of plastic with a twistable bottom to move the product up or down the tube. The cap is silver and I really like how you can attach the cap to the bottom base. It also has a basic font but there’s a nice design by the product’s shade. On the tube, they also put the size and other information.
Tarte-LipSurgence-Natural-Matte-Lip-Tint-2
My Shades:
Fiery: this is very deep rich 1940’s red. It is a great fall/winter or evening color. It is not like the lipluster, because, that’s right people, it’s Matte. Anything with a matte finish (at least those that I have tried) tend to be drying. Now, in the case of the Tarte Matte shades it is not drying, although it is not as moisturizing as the lip luster, it still comforts the lip avoiding drying and settling into creases. Unlike the lip luster, this Matte shade has incredible pigmentation and staying/staining power. This particular shade did feather along the edges a little on me, but that was after a long evening that included dinner where I wiped my mouth several times; lets put it this way, I could have very easily ended up with fruit punch mouth but with this product I didn’t (Yay!!).
tarte

Exposed: This is one of those “my lips by better” shades. The color is a tanned nude on the tube and when swatched. Since it’s not completely opaque, my natural lip color comes through and it looks pink on the lips. This is the type of color that will look slightly different on everyone depending on your natural lip pigmentation. It is a darker nude color with a little bit of a peach tone to it.  This is definitely the color I reach for out of the two because it is the most versatile.  But if you’re someone who likes brighter colors then this might not be your cup of tea.

Dsc07754
Application:
It’s very easy to apply since it has a gel consistency. I really like how moisturizing it was with that light scent of peppermint. It didn’t tingle my lips or make my lips appear any much fuller than it already is. I thought that it was going to be more pigmented like the Revlon ones but surprisingly it was less pigmented.Apply, if you are a total product hog like me, generously to clean lips and voila! You’re done! Tinted lip balms and now apparently lip stains are incredibly useful to me as I am really ridiculous when it comes to lip color application…I eat a lot, I smile a lot, I talk a lot, I have less than a precise hand when it comes to lip product application and all of these elements produce a ridiculous outcome when using lipstick or lip liners. Because stains are more of a hint of color there is a much larger margin for error.
Pros:
  • Natural “bitten” result
  • Moisturizing
  • Refreshing peppermint scent (and taste!)
  • No tingling on lips
  • Easy to use
  • Natural formula

Cons:

  • Can be drying at the end of the day
  • Price

Application Tip: I have heard a lot of complaints about how these products don’t keep their tips. I have not had a problem with that because I reserve the tips only for precision, such as lining my lips. Otherwise, I use the sides of the tip to fill-in the color on my lip, that way you keep the tip as you continue to use the product. (Hopefully that makes sense)

I was  impressed by this product’s staying power, ease of use, and uniform application. Although, These only lasted 4 hours on me! The jelly feeling in the beginning lasted for 2 hours and the rest was that deep pinkish red stain. You can tell when the time is up because it felt like my lips were drying up. Again, I don’t mind reapplying them though since it’s so easy. This product soothed my lips and they felt very comfortable and protected. The moisture that the product gave me was incredible. The mint in it calmed my lips.  Fiery is very vibrant though and the colour really stays on almost all day, even after eating. I got a few compliments on the colour too. I can tell you right now that I will be picking up more colours for sure. This is one of the best lip products that I have found in a long time.

Cheers 🙂

Leave a Reply

